Night Owl

I am not a morning person by any stretch of the imagination. My ideal day has me going to bed at 2 or 3 in the morning and waking up around 9 just to lay in bed until 10. I love the night, especially around that 3 or 4 a.m. hour in the summer during the full moon. It is at that time I like to go outside and walk around my rural property. It is like I am the only thing in the world awake and moving. There is a stillness in the air that fills me with energy and optimism. Anything is possible at this time. I feel connected with nature and myself in ways unique to those early morning hours. The world is more beautiful in pale blue light.

If I could, I would choose a profession that allows me to work from noon till  8 in the summertime. I very well may do just that. I would have a partner that enjoys those wee hours just as much as I do and we would picnic then. Certainly it is much more favorable to me to dine when the world feels like it belongs to me. Certainly a beautiful pale light in the pale stillness is preferable to harsh glare, sweat, the oil of sunblock, noise, and insects. The casual moth wondering near me brings me much more joy than the mosquito. A 4 a.m. picnic date brings so much more meaning and enjoyment than a 4 p.m. one. There is nothing to shatter the feeling that you and your significant other are the only two people in the world.

This time is like another dimension. No distractions from technology exist in this dimension, everyone else is asleep. In fact, no distraction from any other human exists in this beautiful dimension, it is as if the entire world has paused and you’re the only  one still moving. As solitary as it is, there is no loneliness in this paused world. Human interaction is only as far away as sleep is. Why sleep though? Certainly the neighbor’s cat that has wandered into your yard will be much more pleasant and interesting now than your neighbor will be come daylight. Cats will show you around the world should they choose to make you their companion in this hour. Your neighbor is more likely to complain about the heat come daytime. I am truly beginning to understand what the Doktor meant when he talked about the drain of human interaction and his preference for non-human companions. In fact, there seems to be a certain understanding between the creatures of the outdoors at this time that is so much more pleasing than at any other time.

The more stress my daily life throws my way, the more I realize that it stems from an inability to revel in this beautiful and magical time. Work and school force me to retire at 10 or 11 p.m., then wake at 6 or 7 to exist and work in the least pleasant hours of the day, those most in contrast to those still, moonlit hours. My time reflecting on them makes me truly wonder if I am choosing the right profession. Law and teaching at a University both greatly limit my ability to experience this time. Perhaps I should look into something more creative in nature, more entrepreneurial. Certainly it is something I will be thinking about in the future. For those of you who have the opportunity to step out side and take the world in during the wee hours of the morning, I highly encourage it. It is the most peaceful and unique environment that I have ever experienced.

One thought on “Night Owl

  1. I love this post because I’m the same way. With my job, I get to stay up late four nights per week and go to bed early three nights a week, so I feel like I get the best of both worlds. But you’re right. There is something magical about being awake when everyone else is asleep, experiencing the world when you’re all alone in it. I also find that I’m at my best creatively around 2am.

    Like

Leave a Reply

